JJ Abrams has revealed why Star Wars Episode IX has been called The Rise of Skywalker, explaining how the title fulfils the “weird responsibility” of bringing the entire franchise to an end.

“The title feels like it’s the right title for this movie, and I know that it’s provocative and asks a bunch of questions,” explained Abrams in a live interview with Entertainment Tonight. “But I think when you see the movie, you’ll see how it’s intended, what it means.”

For Abrams, the title not only had to mark the end of the sequel trilogy beginning with The Force Awakens but all the main entries in the space opera franchise including the classic and prequel trilogies.

[the_ad id=’7579′]

[the_ad id=’7579′]

“In the flow of titles, this movie had a very weird responsibility,” Abrams admitted. “It had to be the end of not just three movies, but nine movies, and the idea of having to incorporate the stories that have come before strangely is the story of the movie.”

Directed and co-written by J.J. Abrams, Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker stars Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Domhnall Gleeson, Kelly Marie Tran, Joonas Suotamo, Billie Lourd, Keri Russell, Anthony Daniels, Mark Hamill, Billy Dee Williams and Carrie Fisher, with Naomi Ackie and Richard E. Grant. The film arrives December 20.

[the_ad id=’7579′]

Source: CBR

(Vin Diesel To Star In James Cameron’s Avatar Sequels?)