The Dive Trailer 2023
The Dive Trailer 2023

RLJE Films has acquired the U.S. rights to “The Dive,” a thriller about a deep-sea diving trip that takes a catastrophic turn. The movie is co-written and directed by Max Erlenwein, who previously made “Stereo.” RLJE Films, which is a business unit of AMC Networks, made the deal with Augenschein Filmproduktion and Protagonist Pictures. The company will release the film on Aug. 25, 2023 in theaters and on demand. Watch the trailer below:

Erlenwein co-wrote the screenplay with Joachim Hedén (“Breaking Surface”). The movie stars Louisa Krause (“Billions”) and Sophie Lowe (“Medieval”) as sisters Drew and May. After a massive landslide sends boulders tumbling into the sea, May is struck by a rock and now lies deep below the surface, trapped by debris and unable to move. That means Drew must put her own life in jeopardy to save her sister before time runs out.

“‘The Dive’ is a suspenseful and thrilling descent into the great unknown that we cannot wait to share with audiences this summer,” said Mark Ward, RLJE Films’ chief acquisitions officer. “We’re excited to partner with Protagonist, Augenschein and the outstanding film team on this deep-sea adventure turned living nightmare.”

RLJE previously released such notable genre fare as “Mandy,” a gonzo thriller with Nicolas Cage, and “Bone Tomahawk,” a blood-soaked Western with Kurt Russell.

“‘The Dive’ takes audiences on an immersive journey of survival where the human body and mind are pushed to the limit, filled with breathtaking action and from the perspective of two female leads with rich character arcs,” said Maximilian Leo at Augenschein.

“RLJE Films is the perfect home for the first film from our strategic partnership with our friends at Protagonist, which aims to launch original stories and voices into the global market,” Augenschein’s Jonas Katzenstein added.

The film was produced by Leo and Katzenstein. It was co-produced by Pierre Ellul and Anika Psaila Savona of Falkun Films and executive produced by Hedén, Julia Gebauer, Jonas Sörrensson, Philipp Stendebach, Jonathan Saubach, Doris Schrenner, Dave Bishop, George Hamilton, Luane Gauer, Janina Vilsmaier, Céline Dornier and Pascal Hostachy.